Here is the list of all HTTP Status Code and their brief details

Hello Devs,

In this blog I am going to discuss about the https status code in an API calls. I know, you all must have worked on many API's till date and also checked the Network tab in browser's Developers tool to check whether the HTTP request is success or its failed. But have you ever seen something called status code in the network tab, which contain some random numbers like 200, 404, 501 etc.

In this blog I am going to discuss about these numbers, what these numbers are and what these numbers denotes. So without wasting time, lets get deep dive into the tutorial.

What is status code ?

HTTP response status codes indicates that whether the request made by you or your browser has been successfully completed or not. Depending on the response status you will get the different status code. Status codes are categorized in the following 5 groups.

  1. Informational responses (status code between 100–199)
  2. Successful responses (status code between 200–299)
  3. Redirects (status code between 300–399)
  4. Client errors (status code between 400–499)
  5. Server errors (status code between 500–599)

Lets see some of the general status code in each category.

1. Informational responses (status code between 100–199)

100 Continue, if status code is 100, it indicates that the response is OK and you can continue to make other request.

101 Switching Protocols

102 Processing

2. Successful responses (status code between 200–299)

200 OK

201 Created

202 Accepted

203 Non-authoritative Information

204 No Content

205 Reset Content

206 Partial Content

207 Multi-Status

208 Already Reported

226 IM Used

3.Redirects (status code between 300–399)

300 Multiple Choices

301 Moved Permanently

302 Found

303 See Other

304 Not Modified

305 Use Proxy

307 Temporary Redirect

308 Permanent Redirect

4. Client errors (status code between 400–499)

400 Bad Request

401 Unauthorized

402 Payment Required

403 Forbidden

404 Not Found

405 Method Not Allowed

406 Not Acceptable

407 Proxy Authentication Required

408 Request Timeout

409 Conflict

410 Gone

411 Length Required

412 Precondition Failed

413 Payload Too Large

414 Request-URI Too Long

415 Unsupported Media Type

416 Requested Range Not Satisfiable

417 Expectation Failed

418 I'm a teapot

421 Misdirected Request

422 Unprocessable Entity

423 Locked

424 Failed Dependency

426 Upgrade Required

428 Precondition Required

429 Too Many Requests

431 Request Header Fields Too Large

444 Connection Closed Without Response

451 Unavailable For Legal Reasons

499 Client Closed Request

5. Server errors (status code between 500–599)

500 Internal Server Error

501 Not Implemented

502 Bad Gateway

503 Service Unavailable

504 Gateway Timeout

505 HTTP Version Not Supported

506 Variant Also Negotiates

507 Insufficient Storage

508 Loop Detected

510 Not Extended

511 Network Authentication Required

599 Network Connect Timeout Error

Thank you for reading this far. These HTTP status code are the most commonly used status codes while working with the API calls. If you want to learn more about the other staus codes, please visit MDN Doc If you find this article useful, like and share this article. Someone could find it useful too. If you find anything technically inaccurate please feel free to reach out to us.

Hope its a nice and informative read for you. VISIT https://www.capscode.in/blog TO LEARN MORE...


Buy Me A Coffee

See you in my next Blog article, Take care!!

source/ credit: https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/HTTP/Status